BOARD OF VISITORS' AMENDMENTS TO BY-LAWS RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors' By-laws Ad Hoc Committee has reviewed the by-laws, as they relate to the board; and

WHEREAS, at the request of the committee, a survey was conducted and information received from more than forty (40) institutions including several peer institutions, and all institutions in the ACC, to determine their policies as to term limits; and

WHEREAS, each Virginia Tech Board of Visitor member was polled for their input; and

WHEREAS, upon further research of the bylaws, it is realized that the by-laws stipulate that the nominating committee will make recommendations for all officers of the board <u>and</u> members of the executive committee who serve in addition to the rector and vice-rector (section 6b); and

WHEREAS, that the executive committee will be elected by the board and will consist of "not less than three (3) or not more than six (6) members." (section 6); and

WHEREAS, research of the committee revealed that the executive committee includes the rector, the vice-rector, and the chairmen of standing committees;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Visitors' By-laws be amended to set term limits for the rector and vice-rector of the board, that the term of office to be one year with a maximum of two (2) terms, and that the standing committee chairmen will be appointed by the rector and ratified by the board; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that these term limits will apply after the current Rector and Vice-Rector complete their tenures; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the by-laws be amended to the effect that the executive committee will include the Rector, Vice-Rector, and the chairmen of the standing committees.

RECOMMENDATION:

That the Board of Visitors' by-laws be amended to accommodate new terms of office for the rector and vice-rector, and that the standing committee chairmen will be appointed by the rector and ratified by the board, and the executive committee will include the rector, vice-rector, and the chairmen of the standing committees.

August 23, 2004