#### RESOLUTION FOR EXCLUSION OF CERTAIN OFFICERS/DIRECTORS

**WHEREAS**, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University ("Virginia Tech") was determined by the Department of Defense (DoD) to be a facility authorized to be eligible for access to classified information or award of classified contracts in 1960 and years following, with the most recent authorization in 2011; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with the National Industry Security Program Operating Manual (NISPOM), Cognizant Security Agencies (CSAs) require certain principal officers, directors, partners, regents, or trustees, and those occupying similar positions at institutions of higher education meet the personnel security clearance requirements established for the level of the institution's facility security clearance or be formally excluded; and

**WHEREAS**, the NISPOM permits the exclusion from the personnel clearance requirements of said principal officers et al. on the basis that these cited individuals shall not require, shall not have, and can be effectively excluded from access to all classified information disclosed to Virginia Tech, and do not occupy positions that would enable them to affect adversely corporate policies or practices in the performance of classified contracts, as determined by a CSA;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT DECLARED** that the Board of Visitors hereby formally appoints a managerial group with the authority and responsibility for the negotiation, execution, and administration of classified contracts ("Key Management Personnel"), consisting of the following principal officers within Virginia Tech: President, University Legal Counsel, Chief Contracting Officer, Vice President for Research and Innovation, Senior Research Compliance Officer, Senior Contracts Officer, Facility Security Officer, and Insider Threat Program Senior Official (specified by name in Attachment A); and

**BE IT RESOLVED** that the President and the said managerial group at the present time do possess, the required security clearance; and

**BE IT RESOLVED FURTHER** that in the future, when a CSA determines that additional Virginia Tech officials must be added to said managerial group and be granted personnel clearances or excluded from classified access pursuant to the NISPOM, such requirements shall be made and approved by the Key Management Personnel, and not the Board of Visitors, unless approval by the Board of Visitors is formally required by the CSA; and

**BE IT RESOLVED FURTHER**, that the appended list of all members of the Board of Visitors and certain University Principal Officers (specified by name in Attachment B) shall not require, shall not have, and can be effectively excluded from access to all classified information in the possession of Virginia Tech, and do not occupy a position that would enable them to affect adversely Virginia Tech policies or practices in the performance of classified contracts. A copy of this resolution shall be provided to CSAs as required by the NISPOM.

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

That this resolution be adopted.

November 6, 2017

### ATTACHMENT A:

List of Key Management Personnel by name who must be granted personnel clearances or excluded from classified access pursuant to the NISPOM per Board of Visitors Resolution, April 2, 2017.

President
University Legal Counsel
Chief Contracting Officer
Vice President for Research & Innovation
Senior Research Compliance Officer
and Senior Contracts Officer
Facility Security Officer and
Insider Threat Program Senior Official

Ms. Kay K. Heidbreder, Esq. Mr. M. Dwight Shelton, Jr. Dr. Theresa Mayer

Ms. Linda R. Bucy

Dr. Timothy Sands

Mr. David A. Brady

#### **ATTACHMENT B:**

# List of members of the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors excluded per Board of Visitors Resolution, November 6, 2017.

Ms. Greta J. Harris

Mr. Charles T. "C.T." Hill

Ms. Anna L. James

Mr. Mehmood S. Kazmi

Ms. Letitia A. Long

Mr. Robert J. Mills Jr.

Mr. L. Chris "Chris" Petersen

Ms. Deborah "Debbie" Leigh Martin Petrine (Vice-Rector)

Mr. Michael "Mike" J. Quillen

Rev. Wayne H. Robinson

Mr. Mehul P. Sanghani

Mr. Dennis H. Treacy (Rector)

Mr. Horacio A. Valeiras

Mr. Jeff E. Veatch

## List of University Principal Officers to be excluded.

Interim Executive Vice President and Provost

Dr. Cyril Clarke