Unless otherwise noted, all full Board of Visitors meetings are held at the Torgersen Board Room and all regular committee meetings are held at The Inn at Virginia Tech (always on Monday).


Board of Visitors meeting dates for 2019:

July 18, 2019
Executive Committee Meeting Materials

August 25-26, 2019

November 17-18, 2019

Upcoming Meetings

Contact Us

Ms. Kim O'Rourke

Secretary of the Board of Visitors

319 Burruss Hall (0125)

800 Drillfield Drive

Blacksburg, VA 24061

Phone: (540) 231-6232

E-mail: bov@vt.edu




Members of the Board of Visitors and administration met with students at a brunch on Sunday, November 4, 2018, at The Inn at Virginia Tech.

Board of Visitors

What We Do

September 2017

Dennis H. Treacy Seeks Common Ground Among May Stakeholders, Virginia Business

The Board of Visitors is the governing authority for Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. The Board is composed of 14 members, 13 of whom are appointed by the Governor. The 14th member is the President of the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services, who serves ex officio. In addition, there are four non-voting representatives to the board, representing faculty, staff, graduate students and undergraduate students.



Agee and Treacy: Transforming Southwest Virginia: Higher education must lead

© 2017 Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University